Three articles published in 2013 that exemplify the principles and commitments of the Physician Charter were awarded the ABIM Foundation Professionalism Article Prize.

A committee of physicians, a medical student and other leaders in health care reviewed more than 100 peer reviewed articles published and selected the winners:

Members of the selection committee included:

  • Louise Arnold, PhD, Professor Emerita, Office of Medical Education, University of Missouri-Kansas City School of Medicine
  • Barry Egener, MD, Medical Director, The Foundation for Medical Excellence
  • Rosemary Gibson, author, Medicare Meltdown
  • Hayley Goldbach, medical student, Perelman School of Medicine at the University of Pennsylvania
  • Catherine Lucey, MD, Vice Dean of Education, University of California, San Francisco School of Medicine
  • Lorna Lynn, MD, Director, Practice Assessment, American Board of Internal Medicine
  • Walter McDonald, MD, FACP, Emeritus Executive Vice President and Chief Executive Officer, American College of Physicians-American Society of Internal Medicine
  • Daniel Wolfson, MHSA, Executive Vice President and Chief Operating Officer, ABIM Foundation